Introducing: Daphne Willis

Daphne is an American singer/songwriter who uses her music to advocate for mental health. Collaborating across multiple genres ranging from Roots-Rock and Pop to Hip Hop and Electronic Dance Music, classifying Daphne Willis in musical terms is no easy task. With infectious melodies delivered with lyrical precision and honesty, the songs and performances of Daphne Willis are sincere, compelling and relevant.

Raised in Chicago, Daphne now calls Nashville, TN home and cites influences as varied as Elvis Costello and Michael Jackson, but her musical output cleverly incorporates such inspirations into a style that is refreshing and contemporary in a way that suits her songs best.

Her  single, “Somebody’s Someone” is all about destigmatizing mental illness, addiction, and homelessness.
IndustryMe caught up with Daphne to discuss the inspiration behind her single ‘somebody’s someone’ and her plans for the future
IM: What inspired you to write somebody’s someone?
DW: I view mental health as a spectrum. I have been all over that spectrum throughout the course of my life. I know what that isolation feels like when you are down. I wanted to write a song that reminds us that we are not alone
IM: What is the message that you are trying to get across in the song?
DW: I wanted to remind myself and others that we can reach out to each other; that we are not alone
IM: How did your musical journey begin?
DW: I have been singing my entire life. Both of my parents were music majors at UT Austin so I grew up surrounded by music. I tarted writing songs in High School and everything kind of took off from there.
IM: Which artist would you most like to collaborate with and why?
DW: Stevie Wonder. His songs are such an inspiration to me. He pours his soul into everything he does.
IM: Who is on your playlist right now?
DW: Sis and One Republic.
IM: Do you plan on going on tour in the near future?
DW: I do! I actually currently have loads of tour dates up on my website. http://www.Daphnewillis.com
IM: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
DW: I would like to be playing all over the world. I would like to be making music that inspires and uplifts.
IM: How would you describe your sound to someone who hadn’t heard your music before?
DW: Pop/R&B that’s upbeat and positive.

IM: What is the best thing about being a musician?

DW: I get to live out my dreams and passion

IM: Can we expect an album from you anytime soon?
DW: I’ll be releasing an EP early fall and released my new single  “Dopamine” on August 4th!

Daphne’s new song “Dopamine” is such a sexy summer jam about finding a high through love and passion instead of drugs or alcohol. She did an acoustic version of it earlier this week on FB and it already has over 80K views!

Check it out below and let me know your thoughts in the comments.

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/dopamine-single/id1258956172
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/album/2BaUos4dNqFAw5VIzUVGQD

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

