Introducing: MUNDU

Introducing MUNDU, an R&B singer-songwriter and producer from South London.
Having performed around London consistently in 2016 (appearing on the same bill as UK R&B sensation Bobii Lewis and even opening for UK Hip-Hop legend Klashnekoff), created the YouTube cover series #MUNdays (generating over 200,000 plays globally) and began releasing a wholly self-created song every week online in 2017, it is evident that the 22-year-old creator is determined to spread a hypnotising sound that captivates all lovers of music.

IndustryMe caught up with MUNDU to find out more about the man behind the music.

IM: How did you come up with your name?
M: My name came after me trying out a string of weird stage names during the earlier stages of me trying out music and finding myself really. After taking a little break around 2014, I decided that it would be best for me to keep it simple with my stage name so I just combined my first and last name together to create MUNDU. I just wanted to keep it short and sweet really!

IM: The Ed Sheeran X Kojo Funds mashup was amazing, what inspired it?
M: Thanks! A lot of the mashups that I do – including this one – are really just eureka moments whilst I’m out living life really. I remember hearing Shape of You a few times, and I realised how dope it sounded with Dun Talkin’ because of the similar rhythms and sounds that are used in both tunes. That’s one of those #MUNdays covers that people seem to really love as well and it’s one of my favourites so far, so I’m super grateful.

IM: What can we expect from you in 2017?
M: Well, this year I’m really focusing on consistently putting out dope music and connecting with different types of music lovers. So from mid-February I began releasing new original music every single Friday on SoundCloud (as well as Spotify, Apple Music and all those places) and I recently brought back #MUNdays too so yeah, I keep myself super busy and I love it! I’m just happy that I’m at a place where I can be as free with how and when I release music, so I’m really taking advantage of that right now and making sure I consistently put dope music out into the world.

IM: How does being a producer influence you as a singer?
M: I think it mostly enables me to understand the different textures, pockets and colours in a song easier, so I know how to make the vocals live within the production as opposed to just slapping them on top of a production. It’s about making a whole song; the experience, the overall feeling, those 3-4mins of pure escapism. Both the vocals and the production have to live in harmony with each other at all times or that whole experience won’t happen.

IM: What artist would you most like to collaborate with and why?
M: Haha this answer changes all the time! I’m starting to realise that creativity is all about taking on board different perspectives, so now I literally want to work with everyone! Right now though, I’m really loving what Thundercat is doing with his new album. Hiatus Kaiyote are super dope too. Then there’s the staple dream collaborations like KING, Pharrell Williams, Pharrell, Kendrick, Daft Punk and Skateboard P.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

