Introducing: Raben Taylor 

Raben Taylor (pronounced: Robin) differs from most artists on the come up with her ability to bring out emotion with her music and her unique sound. Raben is moving against the grain and making waves in an industry resistant to change. By combining her loves for both poetry and singing, Raben is able to capture the emotion found within the melodies and construct lyrics that are as deep and specific as the emotions that inspired them.

Her signature? An emphasis on strong, attention-grabbing basslines and kicks; normally considered unconventional to the R&B and Neo-soul genres. It would be like listening to Jhené Aiko’s soulful vocals over The Weeknd’s hard-hitting production. 

Raben has released two singles to date; her debut single, ‘Hidden’ and her more recent single, ‘More Than’. Currently, Raben Taylor is working on new music to complete a cohesive freshman album, with a release slated for later this year.

IndustryMe caught up with Raben to discuss the journey so far

IM: What’s the biggest challenge you face as an up and coming artist?

RT: I would say my biggest challenge is getting the attention of potential fans. With the new era of rap music phasing out hip-hop and R&B on the radio it’s becoming harder and harder to capture the attention of an audience who doesn’t regularly hear my type of music But once I have it, they’re hooked.

IM: At what point did you realise that music was something you wanted pursue?

RT: Music isn’t something I realized I wanted to do , music is something that was in me from birth. It’s what gets me through everything; it has always been apart of me. It always felt so natural to write and sing, just as it does for me to breathe.

IM: Who’s on your playlist right now?

RT: My playlist consist of The Beatles, Earth Wind and Fire, Jhené Aiko, Jasmine Sullivan, Amy Whinehouse… Just timeless music.

IM: Where do you see yourself in the next five years?

RT: I see myself working on my 3rd album and being successful with my music who knows maybe a Grammy or two.

IM: What are you working on at the moment?

RT: Right now, I’m making plans for the release of my upcoming single, “Dreams”. I want it’s release to be big and reach a larger audience.

IM: Where can people find your music?

RT: I currently have two singles. Both can be found on any of the digital retailers and streaming services, like Spotify, iTunes, etc. My music video for ‘Hidden’ is on my YouTube channel: Raben Taylor, and I can be found on all social media sites under @rabentaylor.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

