Introducing: Westside FX

From the historical Crenshaw District of South Central Los Angeles California, a artist who’s talent is uncanny to legends in hip hop from the past and today. With a unique yet familiar delivery, comes 26 year old Westside FX. Born Daron Anderson the middle child of 6, FX wasn’t exactly always the center of attention. As a kid he developed a passion for music idolizing the late great Michael Jackson. Initially he wanted to sing, but later gravitated to rap. “I remember when I was 16 I got in some really bad trouble, while on punishment (lol) I began to write sonnets, and things like that. Then I began writing quotes. From here I had a different type of love for writing. At 17 I spit my first verse, and knew that music was what I wanted to do with the rest of my life”. 

Growing up in LA was just like setting a thousand traps on your front lawn and trying to walk thru every single one everyday successfully. So in retrospect it’s almost impossible to be a young black man in his city and not be gang affiliated. Without music in his life he would’ve been consumed by the hood, but now he can help lead people in a new direction so that they can bare better fruits, and accomplish more of their goals. FX has recently finished filming his official music video for his new single “I Know You Want Me” soon to premiere on Revolt TV. He’s also on the cover of the newest issue of Rap Report magazine, and has a few radio interviews lined up this year. He’s in debt to music, for music is one of his biggest blessings, and he has so much to offer the world with his art.

IndustryMe caught Up with Westside FX to find out more about the man behind the music.

IM: What’s on your playlist right now?

WF: Future album and Hndrxx album

IM: Who would you most like to collaborate with and why?

WF: Pharrell Williams I’ve always been an admirer of his art. To work with him would be an honor.

IM: What is your ideal performance venue and why?

WF: Staples Center, I’m a Los Angeles native, to sell out the arena the Lakers have won championships in would be monumental to my career.

IM: What inspires the music you write?

WF: Life in its entirety inspires me. It can be good, bad, joyous, tragic, anything. That’s what makes music special, and unique. The ability to make something out of what is given.

IM: At what point did you realize music was something you wanted to pursue?

WF: I been into music my whole life I’ve been singing since I could remember. I let go of singing at 15 and began rapping at 17. I knew it was what I wanted from that day forward.

IM: What aspect of the music making process excites you most, and what aspect discourages you the most?

WF: The process of recording is definitely the best thing about music for me. I enjoy trying new ways to make my delivery unique, switching up my flow patterns, and coming up with lines that no one would ever think to say. I also have a crazy itch for the business I’m intrigued about making deals, and signing ventures. I believe that my love for business is only a heart beat shy of my love for music. Nothing about music discourages me.

IM: How involved are you in the recording, producing, mastering, marketing, and other processes needed to make and sell your music, and do you outsource any part of these processes?

WF: I’m 100% involved in every realm of my brand. I am looking to sign either a partnership, or solely a distribution deal in the near future to increase my sales margin and raise the audience of Westside FX. I’m a artist that this century is really in need of. People need someone they can relate too, a artist that doesn’t only want people to believe in their own selfish dreams. I want to inspire, and influence people to reach for theirs as well. Young, Fly, and Hood. EML


Keep up with the latest from Westside FX on Instagram at: @Westside_FX

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

