Introducing: Emily Mutaako


Formally known as Emily Grace, British singer/ songwriter Emily Mutaako has returned to the scene with her single ‘Fall’. 2017 marks the beginning of a whole new chapter for the 21 year old with a new name, a new sound and the great new music which is bound to follow.

IndustryMe caught up with Emily to find out how her journey began.

IM:How would you describe your sound?

EM: I would say it’s a fusion of jazz and soul that is updated. I come from a confused vocal background of classical, popular and jazz training so it’s a bit of everything really haha! 

IM:What inspired you to start singing and making music?



EM: Gospel choir in secondary school! Funnily enough, I was more of a sporty child and I was pretty much close to tone deaf no word of a life…like I thought I could sanggg haha but that was not the case(!) My music teachers encouraged me to join choirs and auditions. I also studied GCSE and A level music and this encouraged me to teach myself how to use Logic and learn instruments by ear.  

IM: What is the biggest challenge that up and coming artists face?

EM: Taking the risks. Several artists worry that giving up their jobs to pursue music as a full time job can be incredibly risky as you literally HAVE to stand out –otherwise its pretty much game over as brutal as it may sound. Vocal ability is less of a determining factor today so finding a strong image is incredibly important.  

IM: Which artists do you think influence your music?

EM: Fantasia Barrino and Chrisette Michele are two of my major influences! Much of their influences stem from a gospel and jazz background! I’m yet to see Fantasia but I can assure you having seen Chrisette Michele live, you NEED to see her live! Damn girrrl! 

IM: What can we expect from you in the future? 

EM: A few more singles, performances, refixes and a potential project! Keep your eyes peeled on my Instagram and Twitter for regular updates and 30sec videos (EmilyMutaako)
IM:What do you want people to feel when they hear you music?

EM: A story! I am and have been a huge fan of poetry from a young age and so I often write in that sort of style. Most of my music carries a memorable and powerful refrain (or chorus). I love to write encouraging music and so although I give my own perspective, I also want the listener to relate my music to their own situations. 


Check out her music at: https://soundcloud.com/emilygraceldn

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

