To the Mic…Zuby

Zuby was born in England, grew up in Saudi Arabia and is a graduate of  University of Oxford. Through years of hard work and dedication, he has become one of the UK’s most accomplished independent rappers; with over 22,000 albums sold and three nationwide tours completed.

His intelligent wordplay, inspirational lyrics and distinct voice have earned Zuby a loyal fan base, reaching over 800,000 YouTube views, 22,000 Facebook fans and 13,000 Twitter followers

IndustryMe caught up with Zuby to find out more about the man behind the music 

IM: What inspires you to write?

Z: My writing is inspired by my memories, observations about the world we live in and my personal experiences as I grow as a person and artist.

IM: When did you realise you were meant to be a rapper?

Z: Some time during my time studying at Oxford University; in my second or third year after I’d released my first album ‘Commercial Underground’ and gained a small following of people who were really into my music. I noticed that my music was getting a positive reaction and people were willing to buy it – so the idea of it being a career rather than just a hobby became real.

IM: What’s the biggest challenge you’ve faced in your career so far?

Z: I wouldn’t say there has been a specific hurdle that stands out. The biggest ongoing challenge is keeping yourself motivated, focused and persistent on a daily basis. It’s difficutlt when you’re doing something that is very out of the ordinary in terms of career path. It’s a lonely road with many ups and downs so you need to have incredible passion for it and non-stop self belief.

IM: What’s the best thing about being an independent artist?

Z: Having the ability to completely steer and develop your own career – both creatively and business wise. It’s also one of the biggest challenges 

IM: What makes you stand out in an industry that often seems oversaturated?

Z: I stand out easily by being completely honest and not attempting to portray myself as anything that I’m not. I don’t shy away from bringing a positive light to an industry where negativity and ignorance is known to sell. I also have a different background and perspective to every other artist and as a result my sound, story and way I tell it will always be unique.

IM: If you were not a hip hop artist what would you be doing?

Z: I’d be a different kind of entrepreneur. I’m definitely wired to create things and to be my own boss.

IM: What are your plans for your music in 2017?

Z: In 2017, I’m going to really focus on singles, video content and live performances to expand my fan base and reach; creating the best songs possible and pushing each one individually to see what sparks a fire. My level of online content and frequency of live performances are both going to go way up compared to 2016.

IM: Where can people find your music?

Z:You can find to my music on Spotify, Apple Music, iTunes, Google Play, Deezer and Amazon. You can also buy my music and merchandise from my website http://www.teamzuby.com

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

