Clare Dove: Solo Artist to Songwriter 

This week’s featured talent knows all about painting a picture with words. It was her ability to capture emotions so clearly that caught my attention.


Clare Dove is a London based songwriter. She has worked with some of the UK’s finest acts, including garage legend Artful with whom she wrote and featured on the single “Trouble.” Last year she made her first entry into the UK charts after writing the charity single “Yours” for a group of Junior Doctors at Christmas. She is currently working with some of the most promising new acts in not just the UK but across Scandinavia and the USA too, and in just a few years has established herself as one of the industry’s most exciting new writers.

IndustryMe caught up with Clare to talk about the transition from solo artist to songwriter.
IM: When did you realise that you were meant to be a songwriter?

CD: I’d been writing songs from a young age but had always felt a little embarrassed about sharing them. When I was in my early teens I was working alongside other people who wrote, and although I’d contribute, I used to feel like anything I had to say might not be good enough. When I took myself out of that situation though I decided to let go of those inhibitions, and began to book sessions to work on my own music with no other writers in the room, just me and a producer. Knowing that no one was there to judge me I felt free to share my ideas and everything flowed so easily. I assumed that was how it worked for everyone .. turns out it isn’t. The people I was working with liked what I was doing and started inviting me to write for other artists, and it just went from there.

IM: Do you ever miss being a solo artist?

CD: Not at all. I love to sing, and it’s something I’ll always do. I still sing everyday and it plays a big part in the work I do when I’m creating a song for somebody else. Being an artist was never me though, I just didn’t realise it until I found what was. 

IM: What made you start your blog?

CD: I feel like there’s been so much learning for me over the last few years, and I’ve experienced a lot of the industry that is perhaps isn’t that frequently talked about, so I just wanted a place to start sharing some of the things I was facing. It’s a hard path to follow, but my hope was that by being quite open about my own experiences, that it might be of some encouragement to anyone perusing a similar route. I’m also releasing a new project at the beginning of next year, and as I get closer to announcing that, the blog will have started to explain some more of the thought process and motivation behind it, and why I felt it was important. That will all make more sense a few months down the line!

IM: What are your plans for the future?

CD: In the short term I’ve got a new project coming out in Spring 2017 which I’m really excited for, and I’m working alongside several really great new artists on their material. In the longer term I hope that I’ll have the opportunity for the songs I write to have a wider influence and be heard by a bigger audience. I always say I want to be able to soundtrack people lives, and to know that I’ve written a song that someone might have fallen in love to, or danced with their best friend to, or that helped that when they were heartbroken. To write for some of my idols and to see them performed to thousands of people would of course be an ultimate dream .. and one I hope to see come true.  

IM: Where can people find your music?

CD: http://www.claredove.com will connect you to my SoundCloud plus all of my social media accounts, which is where you can always hear my latest work and find news of what’s coming next
We look forward to seeing Clare’s project in the spring!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

